Laurastar IGGI

A portable, non-chemical and natural steamer and purifier.

Switzerland is a country where ironing is practiced more than steaming. But in the face of new lifestyles and perceptions, this culturally rooted habit is changing. In collaboration with Laurastar and Les Ateliers du Nord, INOV3 has actively contributed to the design of the first portable pressure-using steamer and purifier. A purifier? Yes, thanks to its temperature of over 100°C, the steam produced by IGGI destroys most bacteria and viruses in a few seconds – including SARS-CoV-2.

It is with great delight that we are sharing with you this beautiful story and this wonderful collaboration that has led to the birth of a new and innovative product: Laurastar IGGI.

A two-functions device

Initially, IGGI was conceived as a clothes steamer. The idea was then to propose a portable and ergonomic device allowing users to use it quickly, on a daily basis or on the move. During the project’s development – and in view of the health situation in 2020 – it was suggested that the garment steamer could also act as a purifier for certain viruses and bacteria. Such a process is already in use in hospitals, but no device had so far allowed this to be done in households.

Our industrial designers, mechanical engineers and laboratory technicians have successfully met this new challenge. Thanks to high pressure, high speed and heat of over 100°C, the steam produced by IGGI purifies fabrics from most viruses and bacteria.

The results are there. In addition to efficiently removing wrinkles from clothes, Laurastar IGGI now makes it possible to eradicate the SARS-CoV-2 virus from fabrics in a natural, non-chemical way.

From the idea to the new device

Designing the product started in 2017. During the first few months, industrial designers were working on the design of the product. Later, engineers intervened for the materialization and industrialization of the product.

At the beginning, a simple idea: an efficient, portable and easy to use steamer. The device was still just an idea, but inspiration came through action. At this point, the considerations were therefore not related to its aesthetics or its design; they were rather based on principle. We thought about its ergonomics, the gestures of use, and the way it would be handled (ergonomics).

What is interesting is that we are working on an unprecedented device whose use and function we did not yet fully understand. Then it became real, and it is its rather natural functions that give its visual legitimacy.

Antoine Cahen

Industrial designer

Little by little, the magic worked. Thanks to almost daily discussions – facilitated by geographical proximity, thanks to the intervention of the engineers, the skills of each and every one, common thinking, and a shared passion, IGGI took shape and the first prototype was born. So we felt it, we handled it, we touched it, and we realized that we were creating a new kind of gesture that didn’t exist before, a “gesture that pleases”.

During the prototyping phase, concessions had to be made. For example, we moved the cap, which we wanted to fix at the top, so we needed to redesign the shape of the boiler, which was originally perfectly symmetrical. But these are not truly concessions. It is rather the device that takes place in reality, that materializes.

Security, miniaturization and portability

It is a continuous reflection, many steps backwards and leaps forward that allowed the creation of Laurastar IGGI. Alongside ergonomic and practical considerations, technical problems also arose. Because miniaturization, ergonomics and portability come with their share of constraints.

First of all, a recurring problem in fluid mechanics: sputtering water. How can we prevent drops of water from coming out of the nozzle when the user presses the trigger? Usually, on steam generators, a mechanical trap is used to separate condensation and steam. However, the installation of such a system was not possible given the nature of the device. After numerous tests and prototypes, it is finally thanks to a specific geometry and nozzle that we found the solution.

Iggi is a portable system, whose steam is projected under pressure. The device’s safety is therefore paramount: we have ensured it on different levels. First of all, in order to avoid a potential overheating of the device, the components are spaced out so that the outside temperature does not exceed a certain limit. Additionally, electrical safety features as well as mechanical valves ensure that the pressure is released in case of overpressure in the device. Finally, an electronic management system ensures constant and efficient steam quality.

INOV3 is composed of engineers who understand the needs of customers, and the need to have non-technical elements in a product. They understand customer feedback and are able to improve the product. Here, ergonomics, safety and weight were key.

Julie Monney

co-CEO Laurastar

Industrialisation

Once the prototype was completed, discussions were held with the supplier to produce the device in large quantities. Here, everything must be extremely precise, because from this “Design Freeze” stage on, it is complicated to make changes to the device.

After an industrialization phase, the parts were assembled and tested at INOV3. Any problems were corrected (materials, part tolerances, etc.). Some final pre-production touch-ups were made.

IGGI was then ready to continue the adventure in the hands of Laurastar and its customers.

Result

Laurastar IGGI is the product of a beautiful collaboration. A technical and human challenge, the excellent result of which has been possible thanks to several factors. First of all, the geographical proximity, thanks to which as everyone was able to manipulate the object during its design, allowing an exchange of ideas and continuous improvement of the prototypes. Secondly, the skills and involvement of each person, without which no product could be created.

INOV3 sincerely thanks all the people involved in this project, as well as the entire INOV3 team for its dedication.

Key stakeholders: Julie Monney (Laurastar), Jean-Luc Denisart (INOV3), Antoine Cahen (Ateliers du Nord), Didier Pont (INOV3), Ali Abbassi (INOV3)

Laurastar IGGI

Un purificateur et défroisseur vapeur portable, non-chimique et naturel.

La Suisse est un pays dans lequel on pratique le repassage plutôt que le défroissage. Mais face à des modes de vie et à des perceptions nouvelles, cette habitude culturellement ancrée est en voie de changer. En collaboration avec Laurastar et Les Ateliers du Nord, Inov3 a participé activement à la conception du premier défroisseur et purificateur portable sous pression. Un purificateur ? Oui. Grâce à sa température de plus de 100°C, élimine 99,9% des virus, bactéries et acariens en quelques secondes – dont le SARS-CoV-2, le virus de la Covid-19.

C’est avec un grand plaisir que nous partageons avec vous cette belle histoire et cette très belle collaboration qui a permis l’émergence d’un nouvel objet innovant : Laurastar IGGI.

Un objet à deux fonctions

Au départ, IGGI est pensé comme un défroisseur de vêtements. L’idée est alors de proposer un objet portable, ergonomique, qui permette aux usagers une utilisation rapide, au quotidien ou en déplacement. En cours de projet, puisque la vapeur Laurastar a été qualifiée comme désinfectante par des laboratoires indépendants, le défroisseur a évolué pour accueillir une deuxième fonction : celle de purificateur pour certains virus et bactéries. Un tel procédé est déjà utilisé dans les hôpitaux, mais aucun n’objet ne permettait jusqu’à présent de le faire dans un ménage.

Ce nouveau défi, nos designers industriels, ingénieurs mécaniques et techniciens de laboratoire l’ont relevé avec succès. Grâce à une forte pression, à une grande vitesse et à une chaleur de plus de 100°C, la vapeur produite par IGGI purifie les tissus de la plupart des virus et bactéries.

Le résultat est là. En plus de défroisser les vêtements efficacement, Laurastar IGGI permet aujourd’hui d’éradiquer le virus SARS-CoV-2 à 99% sur les tissus et les objets, de manière naturelle et non chimique. Son lancement en 2020 a coïncidé avec le développement du COVID-19 dans le monde. IGGI est une solution efficace pour promouvoir l’hygiène dans les foyers et en déplacement.

De l'idée au nouvel objet

La conception du produit débute en 2017. Au cours des premiers mois, ce sont les designers industriels qui travaillent à la conception de cet objet. Les ingénieurs interviendront plus tard, pour la matérialisation et l’industrialisation de l’objet.

Au départ, une simple idée : un défroisseur efficace, portable et facile à utiliser. L’objet n’est encore qu’une idée, mais l’inspiration viendra par l’action. A ce moment-là, les réflexions ne sont donc pas liées à son esthétique ou à son aspect design, ce sont plutôt des réflexions de principe. On réfléchit à son ergonomie, aux gestes d’utilisation, et à la façon dont il sera manipulé (ergonomie).

Ce qui est intéressant, c’est que l’on travaille sur un objet qui n’a pas de précédent pas et dont on ne comprend pas encore bien l’usage et la fonction. Puis l’objet devient réel, et ce sont ses fonctions assez naturelles qui donnent sa légitimité visuelle.

Antoine Cahen

Designer industriel

Petit à petit, la magie opère. Grâce à des échanges presque quotidiens – favorisés par une proximité géographique, grâce à l’intervention des ingénieurs, aux compétences de chacun, à la réflexion commune et à une passion partagée, IGGI prend forme et le premier prototype voit le jour. Alors on le sent, on le manipule, on le touche et on s’aperçoit que l’on est en train de créer un nouveau geste qui n’existait pas, un « geste qui fait plaisir ».

Durant la phase de prototypage, des concessions sont à faire. On déplace par exemple le bouchon, que l’on voulait fixer en haut, et l’on doit donc revoir la forme de la chaudière, à l’origine parfaitement symétrique. Mais ce ne sont pas vraiment des concessions. C’est plutôt l’objet qui prend place dans la réalité, qui se matérialise.

Sécurité, miniaturisation et portabilité

C’est une réflexion continue, de nombreux retours en arrière et bonds en avant qui ont permis la création du Laurastar IGGI. Parallèlement aux considérations ergonomiques et pratiques se sont aussi présentées des problèmatiques techniques. Car la miniaturisation, l’ergonomie et la portabilité viennent avec leur lot de contraintes.

Tout d’abord, un problème récurrent en mécanique des fluides : le crachotement d’eau. Comment éviter que des gouttes d’eau ne sorte de la buse lorsque l’utilisateur presse sur la gachette ? De manière classique, sur les générateurs de vapeur, un purgeur mécanique permet de séparer la condensation et la vapeur. Cependant, l’installation d’un tel système est impossible en raison de la nature de l’appareil. Après de nombreux essais et prototypes, c’est finalement grâce à une géométrie spécifique et de la buse que la solution a été trouvée.

Iggi est un système portable, dont la vapeur est projetée sous pression. La sécurité de l’appareil est donc primordiale, nous l’avons assurée sur différents niveaux. Tout d’abord, afin d’éviter une potentielle surchauffe de l’appareil, les composants sont espacés de manière à ce que la température extérieure ne dépasse pas une certaine limite. Parallèlement, des sécurités électriques ainsi que des soupapes mécaniques assurent que la pression soit relâchée en cas de surpression de l’appareil. Enfin, une gestion électronique assure une parfaite qualité de vapeur constante et efficace.

INOV3, ce sont des ingénieurs qui comprennent les besoins des consommateurs, et le besoin d’avoir des éléments non-techniques dans un produit. Ils comprennent les retours du consommateur et sont en mesure d’améliorer le produit. Ici, l’ergonomie, la sécurité et le poids étaient très importants.

Julie Monney

co-CEO Laurastar

Industrialisation

Une fois le prototype achevé, on discute avec le fournisseur pour produire l’objet en grande quantité. Ici, tout doit être d’une précision extrême, car à partir de cette étape de « Design Freeze », il est difficile de faire des modifications sur l’appareil.

Après une phase d’industrialisation, les pièces sont assemblées et testées chez INOV3. Les éventuels problèmes sont corrigés (matériaux, tolérances des pièces, etc.). Quelques ultimes retouches de pré-production sont apportées.

IGGI est prêt à continuer l’aventure entre les mains de Laurastar et de ses consommateurs.

Bilan

Laurastar IGGI est le produit d’une belle collaboration. Un défi technique et humain, dont le résultat excellent a été possible grâce à plusieurs aspects. Tout d’abord, la proximité géographique, grâce à laquelle chacun a été en mesure de manipuler l’objet au cours de sa conception, permettant ainsi un échange d’idées et une amélioration continue des prototypes. Ensuite, les compétences et l’implication de chacun, sans quoi aucun produit ne saurait voir le jour.

INOV3 remercie sincèrement tous les intervenants de ce projet, ainsi que toute l’équipe d’INOV3 au complet pour son implication.

Principaux intervenants : Julie Monney (Laurastar), Jean-Luc Denisart (INOV3), Antoine Cahen (Ateliers du Nord), Didier Pont (INOV3), Ali Abbassi (INOV3)